The Society

The Society is a scholarly organization that promotes the study of the Ming dynasty (1368–1644). It publishes a journal and a book series, as well as sponsoring panels on Ming topics at the annual meeting of the Association for Asian Studies.


Anyone may join the Society by becoming an individual subscriber to the journal Ming Studies.

Board of Directors

The Board consists of three kinds of directors: (1) Officers of the Society, (2) 3–6 members elected at the annual meeting for three-year terms, and (3) graduate student and overseas representatives. This last category is not described in the bylaws but was created to maintain linkage with key constituencies.

Currently, the officers are:

  • President: Anne Gerritsen
  • Secretary: Peter Ditmanson
  • Editor of Ming Studies: Ihor Pidhainy
  • Editor of Research Series: Ted Farmer
  • Immediate Past President: Bruce Rusk
  • Web-Master: Bruce Rusk
Elected Members, recent and current
2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
He Yuming
Wang Sixiang
Du Yongtao
Li Yuhang
Brigid Vance
Scott Gregory
Elizabeth Kindall
Area Representatives
  • Leo Shin (Canada)
  • Hsiung Ping-chen (Taiwan)
  • Anne McLaren (Australia)
  • Stephen McDowall (Europe)
  • Li Xifeng (China)
  • Xie Yang (China)
Graduate Student Representative
  • Sarah Basham

See also the bylaws of the Society.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Society for Ming Studies
1871 West Mall,
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z2, Canada

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC  | © Copyright The University of British Columbia